The Only Thing I can Tell You

This is the third or fourth time I’ve started this post.

I keep hitting a problem, every time I start to talk about The Mad Folk of Falconer.

I can’t talk about any aspect of the writing, or the research I did to write the book, because anything I talk about will introduce spoilers.

As part of every Harley Firebird story is a mystery/whodunnit/crime solving, spoilers are a  really big no-no.

And don’t get me started on readers who review my books, and reveal all the big twists and turns in their reviews!  Don’t get me wrong.  I love readers. After all, I am one myself, and readers let me keep writing for a living.  I appreciate every review and the reader’s impulse to share their experience of the book, but I have stopped reading reviews–especially reviews of other authors’ books–because I don’t want to know the big twists and whodunnit before I read the book myself.

Have you ever had a book spoiled by a reader review?

Therefore, about the only thing I can tell you about The Mad Folk of Falconer is that a new character is introduced in this story, one who promises to complicate Harley’s life, while the residents of Falconer come together in one of the strangest ways possible.

Everyone in Falconer is going crazy.

Harley von Canmore is a firebird, and Police Chief of the tiny town of Falconer, in the foothills of the Canadian Rockies.  Harley’s town is nearly all Old Race people, which creates challenges she never faced as a Royal Canadian Mounted Police Officer.

It is Imbolc—St. Brigid’s Day—and a peculiar madness seems to be infecting everyone in Harley’s town.  She figures it might be because they’re starving in a way only the Old Ones could suffer.  When the madness strikes the town’s shot-gun wielding mayor, who is purely human, Harley must figure out the root of the problem before the whole town tears itself apart…

The Mad Folk of Falconer
is part of the Harley Firebird urban fantasy series of novelettes, which is set in the same world as Taylen Carver’s Magorian & Jones series.

1.0: The Dragon of Falconer
2.0: The Orc Who Cried
3.0: The Shepherd of Fire
4.0: The Mad Folk of Falconer
…and more to come.

Urban Fantasy Novelette

Buy from me on SRP.

Buy from your favourite retailer.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top